YOUNG ADULT PROGRAM

¥7, ARIZONA
\\& DEPARTMENT

DCS Driving Program of CHILD SAFETY

Expectations

e Caregiver and youth agree youth is ready for the responsibility What To Expect

of driving. . .
¢ 4 hours of classroom time to prepare for written test

e Driving supports young adult’s transition to adulthood goals. o et e e e e NI e e e e e
* Young adult feels additional support will increase their e 10 hours of total driving time with the instructor, broken

driving confidence up into four 2 1/2 hour drives.

® Young adult understand the driving laws and consequences «  4th driving lesson will be a road test with instructor

while on the road ¢ Instructor will transport youth to MVD to obtain their

driver’s license.

Eligibility
® Permit Requirements e Driver License
» Must be at least 15 years and 6 months old. » Must be at least 16 years old.
» Must pass written and vision tests » Must hold an Arizona drivers permit for at least six months.

(If enrolling in the driving program, they require young
adults to take written permit test even after 18 years old)

Legal Requirements

Youth under 18: The application for an instruction permit or

driver license must be signed by at least one adult 18 and older ~ Vital Documents Needed

» Livingin a foster home, Foster Parent must be in agreement (Cljztoe] @i G el Eopiee el GaRti e

to sign for the young person. Foster parent will bring notice * Social security number

to provider to MVD when obtaining permit. e Two documents that prove Arizona residency.
The adult will be responsible for any negligence or willful * For questions about missing documents, follow up with
misconduct when the teen is driving DCS to complete voucher process with ADOT prior to

S ) ) completing the Driving Program referral.
» Youth not living in a foster home: Any responsible person may sign

and may include family members, community and natural supports.

» Note: If you are 17.5 and older not living in a foster family and do not have a responsible adult willing to sign, the driving program can
sign for liability while driving with the instructor. The youth can only drive with the instructor who signs the permit.

Remember: DCS employees, Group Home Staff or contractors are unable to sign for permits and drivers license.

Questions? Contact us at
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Youth Information

Date of Birth

Young Adult's Name

Addpress ‘ City State ‘ Zip Code
Phone ‘ Email

Caregiver Name Caregiver Phone Relationship to Youth/Young Adult?

DCS Specialist ‘ Who’s submitting referral? Relationship to Youth/Young Adult?

If youth is 18+, please skip to Question 3.

e Where does the youth live? Do they live in foster home? Are the foster parent’s willing to sign for the learner’s permit or driver’s license?

Note: Only the foster parents can sign for youth living in a foster home.

e Has a responsible adult been identified to co-sign the youth's permit or driver's license?. . .. ..o oveieeennnnennnn JYes [ INo

If no, the driving program will assign an instructor who may sign for the youth age 17.5 or older and they can only drive with
the assigned instructor.

e Please check off all document’s the youth/young adult has in their possession.

[] Original or certified copied of birth certificate [ Social security number ] Two documents that prove Arizona residency
Note: If not all are checked please reach out to YouthServices@azdcs.gov to start the voucher pass to obtain the youth’s vital records.

e Does the youth/young adult have the legal right to get a license or permit? . . .. ..o u et L Yes [ INo

If no, what legal actions need to be taken in order to obtain their permit/license? (examples: Complete probation, pay off
restitution fines, and citizenship status)

e Does the youth/young adult and caregiver feel they can meet the driving program’s education expectations? . .......... [ JYes [ ]No

@ Is there a driving plan after the youth/young adult obtain their permit or driver'slicense?, . . ... .o vevrreeiieeennnn [ JYes [ ]No

(Does the youth/young adult have access to driving a car, will they have their own car, are they able to obtain and pay for
car insurance, etc))

e Hastheyouth/youngadultalreadyobtainedtheirpermit?....................................................mYeS | [No

Please send completed referrals to YouthServices@azdcs.gov..eeeeeeeeeenn.

Equal Opportunity Employer/Program. The Department of Child Safety (DCS) prohibits discrimination in admissions, programs, services, activities, or employment
based on race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, disability, genetics, or retaliation or any other status protected by federal law, state law, or regulation.
Reasonable accommodations to allow a person with a disability to take part in a program, service, or activity are available upon request. To request this document
in alternative format or for further information about this policy contact your local office. TTY/TDD Services: 7-1-1. Free language assistance for DCS services is
available upon request. Ayuda gratuita con traducciones relacionadas con los servicios del DCS esta disponible a solicitud del cliente. ‘g.
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