



EXPECTATIONS

- Caregiver and youth agree youth is ready for the responsibility of driving.
 - Driving supports young adult's transition to adulthood goals.
- Young adult feels additional support will increase their driving confidence
- -YA understand the driving laws and consequences while on the road

ELIGIBILITY

Permit Requirements

- -Must be at least 15 years and 6 months old.
- -Must pass written and vision tests

Driver License

- Must be at least 16 years old.
- Must hold an Arizona drivers permit for at least six months. (If enrolling in the driving program, they require young adults to take written permit test even after 18 years old)

Legal Requirements

Vital Documents Needed

- Original or certified copied of birth certificate
 - Social security number
- Two documents that prove Arizona residency.
- **For questions about missing documents, follow up with DCS to complete voucher process with ADOT prior to completing the Driving Program referral.
- Youth under 18: The application for an instruction permit or driver license must be signed by at least one adult 18 and older
- Living in a foster home, Foster Parent must be in agreement to sign for the young person. Foster parent will bring notice to provider to MVD when obtaining permit
- Youth not living in a foster home: Any responsible person may sign this may include family members, community and natural supports.
- > The adult will be responsible for any negligence or willful misconduct when the teen is driving.

REMEMBER

DCS employee's and contractors are unable to sign for permits and drivers license.

- 4 hours of classroom time to prepare for written test
- Being taken to the MVD to take the written permit test
 - 10 hours of total driving time with the instructor. Broken up into four 2 1/2 hour drives.
- 4th driving lesson will be a road test with instructor
- Instructor will transport youth to MVD to obtain their driver's license.

QUESTIONS? CONTACT US AT

YOUTHSERVICES@AZDCS.GOV

DCS DRIVING SCHOOL REFERRAL

Youth/Young Adult name:	
DOB:	
Phone:	
Email:	
Address:	
DCS Specialist:	
Who's submitting referral?	
Relationship to Youth/Young Adult?	
If youth is 18+ please skip to question #3	
1. Where does the youth live? Do they live in foster home?Are the	*REMEMBER*
foster parent's willing to sign for the learner's permit or driver's license?	Only the foster parents of sign for youth living in foster home
2. Has a responsible adult been identified to co-sign the youth's	
permit or driver's license?	
3. Please check off all document's the youth/young adult has in their	
possession.	
Original or certified copied of birth certificate	*If not all are checke please reach out to
Social security number	YouthServices@azdcs.g to start the voucher pa
☐ Two documents that prove Arizona residency	to obtain the youth's vi
	records
4.Does the youth/young adult have the legal right to get a licer	nse or permit?
-If no, what legal actions need to be taken in order to obtain the	•
(examples: Complete probation, pay off restitution fines, and citize	nsnip status)
5. Does the youth/young adult and caregiver feel they can meet the driving	ing program's
education expectations?	
6. Is there a driving plan after the youth/young adult obtain their permit	or driver's license?
(Does the youth/young adult have access to driving a car, will they have the	

able to obtain and pay for car insurance, etc.)