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Chapter 10
 

PROVIDER CLAIMS DISPUTES AND MEMBER APPEAL 

The federal government, the State of Arizona, and the AHCCCS Administration have 
established laws, rules, policies and procedures that determine how CMDP processes and 
adjudicates appeals. The rules associated with appeals include 42 CFR 438 Subpart F, 
Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) Section 36 and Arizona Administrative Code (A.A.C) 
Title 9, Chapter 34. 

Grievances 
A grievance is a member’s expression of dissatisfaction with any aspect of his/her care, 
other than the appeal of an action. (Action is defined in the Member Appeals section on 
page 10-3 of this chapter.) Grievances include, but are not limited to, the quality of care or 
services provided, rudeness of a provider or CMDP staff, or failure to respect member’s 
rights. 

How to File a Grievance 
•		 A member may file a grievance at any time either orally or in writing to CMDP. 

•		 A disposition will be completed and provided no later than ninety (90) days after 
receipt of the grievance. 

Provider Claim Disputes 
All claim disputes submitted to CMDP are investigated using applicable statutory, 
regulatory, contractual and policy provisions. 

Prior to submitting a claim dispute, CMDP encourages all providers to check with the 
Claims Unit or Provider Services for assistance in resolving any concerns. When inquiring 
about the claims status, please note the following information: 

•		 If a Provider Remittance Advice identifying the status of the claim has not been 
received, contact the CMDP Claims Unit at (602) 351-2245 or (800) 201-1795 to 
determine whether the claim has been received and processed. 

•		 Please allow thirty (30) days following claim submission before making an inquiry, 
and do not exceed twelve (12) months from the date of service. 

•		 If a claim is pending in the CMDP claims processing system, a claim dispute will 
not be investigated until the claim is paid or denied, or is over 3 months from the 
receive date. 
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How to File a Claims Dispute
	
Submit a claim dispute in writing to CMDP via mail or fax to:
	

Arizona Dept. of Economic Security
 
CMDP Site Code 942C
 

Attn: Grievance Coordinator
 
P.O. Box 29202
 

Phoenix, Arizona 85038-9202
 

Fax (602) 264-3801
 

•		 All claim disputes challenging claim payments or adjudication must be submitted 
within twelve (12) months from the date of service or within sixty (60) days after the 
date of the payment, denial or recoupment of a timely claim submission, whichever 
is later. 

•		 State, in detail, the factual and legal basis for the dispute and the relief requested 
(i.e., additional payment, reversal of claim denial). Be sure to provide any and all 
relevant supporting documentation, including a clean claim. 

Upon Receipt of Your Claim Dispute 
•		 CMDP sends a letter of acknowledgement to the provider within 5 business days of 
receipt. Provider should retain this letter for reference. 

•		 A Notice of Decision is communicated within thirty (30) days after the date the 
dispute was received, unless an extension of time has been agreed upon. 

•		 If it is determined that the original claim denial was CMDP’s error, the claim is 
forwarded to the CMDP Claims Unit for processing. It is not necessary for the 
provider to re-submit the claim. 

•		 Upholding of a claim dispute does not constitute a guarantee of payment nor does 
it constitute a waiver of all claim filing requirements and conditions. Claims are 
subject to all routine claims processing edits and audits. If the submitted claim 
contains errors, omissions, or does not have the required documentation, the claim 
may be denied or an edit may fail, even though the claim dispute was upheld for 
other reasons. 

•		 A provider may appeal a CMDP decision by submitting a request for hearing to 
CMDP no later than thirty (30) days after the date of receipt of the Notice of  
Decision. All information concerning the issue will be sent to the AHCCCS Office 
of Administrative Legal Services (OALS) for a hearing. 

•		 A request for hearing regarding a non-AHCCCS enrolled member must be 
submitted by the provider no later than fifteen (15) days after receipt of the Notice 
of Decision. 
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•		 Submit any request for hearing to the address below: 

Arizona Dept. of Economic Security 
CMDP, Site Code 942C 
Attn: Grievance Coordinator 
P.O. Box 29202
 
Phoenix, Arizona 85038-9202
 

Member Appeals 
Members may file an appeal of any CMDP action to deny, reduce, suspend or terminate 
a service. A provider may file an appeal on behalf of a member but only with the written 
consent of the member’s authorized representative (the custodial agency representative or 
juvenile justice representative). 

If the provider attests that taking the time for a standard resolution could seriously jeopardize 
the member’s life, health, or ability to attain, maintain or retain maximum function, an 
expedited appeal may be filed. These appeals are resolved as expeditiously as the member’s 
health condition requires, but not later than three (3) business days following the receipt. 

An action is defined as: 

•		 Denial or limited authorization of a requested service, including the type or level 
of services; 

•		 Reduction, suspension, or termination of a previously authorized service; 

•		 Denial, in whole or in part, of payment of a service; 

•		 Failure to provide services in a timely manner; 

•		 Failure to act within the timeframes required for standard and expedited resolution 
of appeals and standard disposition of grievances; or, 

•		 For a member residing in a rural area, denial of the member’s right to obtain services 
outside the network. 

A Notice of Action is CMDP’s response to the member or authorized representative 
regarding a requested service. 

How to File a Member Appeal 
•		 Appeals can be filed either orally or in writing within 60 days of the Notice of 
Action. If you have any questions or require assistance, please contact the CMDP 
Grievance Manager. 

•		 CMDP issues a Notice of Appeal Resolution within thirty (30) days for a standard 
appeal or no later than three (3) business days for an expedited appeal, unless the 
requestor and CMDP have agreed upon an extension of up to fourteen (14) days. 
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•		 The decision timeframe is calculated from the date the appeal is received by the 
CMDP Grievance Manager. 

•		 The member or authorized representative may request continuation of services 
while the appeal is pending. The services will continue if: 

◦		 The appeal is filed timely; 

◦		 The appeal involves the termination, suspension or reduction of previously 
authorized services; 

◦		 Services were authorized by CMDP; 

◦		 Original period covered by original authorization has not expired; 

◦		 The member requests and CMDP approves that services continue; 

•		 A request for continuation of services must be filed within 10 days from the date 
CMDP mails the Notice of Action. 

•		 A member or provider may request a State Fair Hearing if the member/provider 
disagrees with the CMDP member appeal decision. 

•		 A provider cannot file a member appeal without written consent from the legal 
guardian (CPS case manager). 

•		 The request must be in writing to CMDP no later than 30 days after receiving the 
Notice of Appeal Resolution. 

•		 A request for hearing regarding a non-AHCCCS enrolled member must be 
submitted in writing by the provider within fifteen (15) days of receipt of the 
Notice of Appeal Resolution. 

•		 AHCCCS Administration notifies CMDP and the requestor of the time, place and 
nature of the hearing. 
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